Is CBD Oil Halal or Haram?

Jun 11, 2020

With over 2.6 million Muslims within the UK and CBD soaring in popularity, a question we are asked a lot is whether CBD oil is Haram (not permitted) or Halal (permitted) under Islamic law? We’ve created this blog to give our Muslim customers the full understanding into CBD and the Islamic faith.

What Is CBD?

To understand whether CBD is Halal or Haram we need to first cover what CBD is. CBD, or cannabidiol, is a cannabinoid found within the cannabis plant. Given CBD comes from the cannabis plant, many people falsely assume it is an illegal drug which will cause a high when used. In the UK, CBD products are legal as long as they contain less than 0.2% THC. THC is another cannabinoid within the cannabis plant, although unlike CBD it contains psychoactive properties which makes its consumption strictly Haram under Islamic law.

Although there are no clinically proven benefits of taking CBD, many people choose to take CBD as they believe it can help with anxiety, depression, sleep, joint pain and certain skin conditions. However, we can not claim that CBD can help treat these conditions or illnesses. 

Is CBD Halal?

CBD can be considered Halal so long as it contains zero THC. CBD products which contain zero THC are often referred to as broad spectrum CBD, however CBD isolate products also contain zero THC. With CBD isolate, the CBD is isolated from any other substances from within the hemp plant, making it pure CBD. With broad spectrum CBD, natural terpenes from the hemp plant are still included although it contains 0 THC.

If you are in doubt as to whether a CBD product contains any THC then it is best to stick to buying your CBD from trusted brands. Trusted brands will usually have lab reports available for each product so you can see proof that the product contains zero THC from a third party report. 

Are Certain Types of CBD Haram?

Different methods of consuming CBD can affect whether they are considered Haram. In this section we’ll go through each method that is considered Haram and why.

CBD Oil

As we’ve mentioned, in order for the CBD to be Halal you should stick to CBD oils that are made using CBD isolate, or those that contain zero THC such. Below are a few CBD oils that we’d recommend that contain 0% THC.

1) 1CBD 10% Pure Hemp 1000mg CBD Oil Bronze Edition 10ml
2) Naturecan 10% 1000mg CBD Broad Spectrum MCT Oil 10ml

CBD Edibles

Some CBD gummies would be considered Haram as they contain gelatine. However we do have vegan friendly CBD gummies which contain no gelatine or THC, making them Halal. Aside from this, there are many other edibles which are Halal such as CBD chocolate.

CBD Capsules

Like with CBD gummies, most CBD capsules are made from gelatine and so would be considered Haram. We do offer vegan CBD capsules from Naturecan which contain zero THC or gelatine, making them permissible under Islamic law.

CBD Vape

Although CBD vapes are free from nicotine, they are still considered Haram under Islamic law as they imitate sinners.

Can The Extraction Method Impact

To answer the question of whether CBD is Haram or Halal we must look into how it is extracted. The majority of CBD products on the market today are extracted from the cannabis sativa plant. In order to extract CBD from the plant it is put through an extraction process that involves either a CO2 or solvent based extraction. The CO2 process is the cleaner and more favoured process as it leaves behind minimal waste products. Whilst THC is in the plant at the beginning of the production phase, upon completion there is none and it should not be deemed as Haram as there is no risk of intoxication.

However, with solvent based extraction concerns are often raised as alcohol based solvents are used in the process. As a result, there may be traces of ethanol left in the oil which would potentially make CBD extracted through this method Haram. We’d therefore recommend avoiding CBD which was extracted using solvent based extraction, and you should instead stick to products which use the CO2 extraction process.

Final Thoughts

CBD is widely considered to be Halal so long as it contains zero THC and is not extracted using solvent based extraction. To ensure you are taking CBD which contains zero THC we would recommend sticking to broad spectrum CBD oil or CBD isolate products. It is also important to make sure you check the lab report of the product to confirm that the product has 0% THC. Most reputable brands in the CBD market will contain a lab report, so it is important to stick to those that do.

Related Posts

How Much CBD Should I Vape?

How Much CBD Should I Vape?

Vaping CBD has become one of the most popular ways to consume CBD within recent years, which is not surprising given its benefits. It offers one of the...

read more

Related Products

Comments

0 Comments

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *